The MFAA announces over 300 finalists as part of its 2017 Excellence Awards program

Posted: 21/04/2017


The MFAA has eclipsed its record from last year, with over 450 submissions received for the 2017 MFAA Excellence Awards.

From those entries, the MFAA has announced that 315 are finalists. Each has the chance to not only win the title in their state, but also at the national awards ceremony in July.

"This increase in submissions reflects the growth of our membership, which is now at its highest level since the GFC. The number of new members joining each month has also been at record highs over the last few months," the MFAA stated.

The MFAA Excellence Awards recognise businesses that demonstrate the MFAA's core values of professionalism, integrity, innovation and customer service.

New categories this year include the Motor Vehicle and Equipment Finance Broker Award, the Mutual/Specialty Lender Award, and for the first time, the BDM Award was split to create one award for Aggregator BDMs and the other for Lender/Support Service Provider BDMs.

"Once again the Young Professional and Newcomer awards have attracted a large number of submissions. This interest is a positive sign for the industry as new and young members demonstrate a real engagement with the industry," the MFAA added.

The judging process was conducted by senior-level, volunteer industry professionals who have given their time to help critique the submissions online. Awards were assessed by different judges and an average of the scores was calculated to decide the list of finalists.​

Aggregators are still able to submit until Monday 29 May, and national finalists will be announced in June.

"This is the largest list of finalists in the history of the MFAA's Excellence Awards, and we are looking forward to a great set of events across the country. We're grateful to everyone who participated, from members who submitted to the judges who reviewed those submissions," the MFAA stated.

The dates for the MFAA National Roadshow, MFAA State Excellence Awards and MFAA National Excellence Awards are:​

MFAA State Excellence Awards

Perth – 11 May

Adelaide – 18 May

Sydney – 26 May

Melbourne – 8 June​

Brisbane​ – 15 June

MFAA National Excellence Awards

Melbourne – 27 July